Media Links

Journals

HEAT (the journal): http://www.giramondopublishing.com/heat/

Salon.com: http://www.salon.com/

 

Government

Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts: http://www.dcita.gov.au

Senate Standing Committee on Environment, Communications, Information Technology and the Arts: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/ecita_ctte/

Australian Parlimentary Library: Media Ownership Regulation in Australia: http://www.aph.gov.au/Library/intguide/SP/Media_Regulation.htm

Department of Culture, Sport and Media (UK): http://www.culture.gov.uk

 

Regulatory

Australian Communications and Media Authority: http://www.acma.gov.au

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission: http://www.accc.gov.au

The Australia Council for the Arts: http://www.ozco.gov.au

Australian Film Commission: http://www.afc.gov.au

European Union’s Information Society Portal: http://www.europa.eu.int/information_society/text_en.htm

Federal Communications Commission: http://www.fcc.gov

Office of Communications: http://www.ofcom.gov.uk

Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman: http://www.tio.com.au

World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS): http://www.itu.int/wsis/

 

Advocacy and Community Organizations

Australia’s Community Broadcasting Association: http://www.cbonline.org.au/

Australian Communications Industry Forum: http://www.acif.org.au

Benton Foundation: http://www.benton.org

Communications Law Centre: http://www.comslaw.org.au

Consumers’ Telecommunications Communications Network: http://www.ctn.org.au

Centre for Digital Democracy: http://www.centrefordigitaldemocracy.org

Creative commons: http://www.creativecommons.org

OurMedia: http://www.ourmedia.org/

OfComWatch: http://www.ofcomwatch.co.uk/2005/09/oxford-pcmlp-news

Media Access: http://www.mediaaccess.org

Move on: http://www.moveon.org

Public Knowledge: http://www.publicknowledge.org/

Bridges: http://www.bridges.org

Panos: http://www.panos.org.uk

Save the Internet: http://www.savetheinternet.com/

Center for Digital Democracy: http://democraticmedia.org/

AlterNet: http://www.alternet.org/mediaculture/46504/

International Journal of Communication: http://ijoc.org/ojs/index.php/ijoc

xmedia.org.au: http://www.xmedia.org.au/

Federation of Ethnic Communities’ Councils of Australia: http://www.fecca.org.au

Office of Communications: http://www.ofcom.gov.uk

Screen Producers Association of Australia: http://www.spaa.org.au

Special Broadcasting Service (SBS): http://www.sbs.com.au

 

Policy Instruments

Broadcasting Services Act (1992) Section 15: Community Broadcasting. See http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/cth/consol_act/bsa1992214/s15.html

UNESCO Universal Declaration on Cultural Diversity (2001): http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0012/001271/127160m.pdf

Commission of the European Communities: http://www.euractiv.com/en/infosociety/

Isuma productions: http://www.isuma.ca
Statement on communications rights.

World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO): http://www.wipo.int/portal/index.html.en

UNESCO: http://portal.unesco.org/culture/en/

Europa: http://europa.eu/scadplus/leg/en/s20013.htm#DIFTV

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: http://www.oecd.org/

Apple Privacy Statement: http://www.apple.com/legal/privacy/

 

Media Industry Related

Australian Broadcasting Corporation: http://www.abc.net.au/services/podcasting/

ABC Rural: http://www.abc.net.au/rural/nsw/

ABC MediWatch: http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/

ABC Media Report: http://www.abc.net.au/rn/mediareport/default.htm

ABC Radio National: http://www.abc.net.au/rn/

British Broadcasting Corporation: www.bbc.co.uk

BBC podcasting: http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/downloadtrial/

BBC Action Network: http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/actionnetwork/

BBC Creative Archive: http://www.creativearchive.bbc.co.uk

Brand Hype: http://www.brandhype.org/MovieMapper/index.jsp

Crikey.com: http://crikey.com.au/

Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/

Guardian Media: http://media.guardian.co.uk/

Inside Story: http://inside.org.au/

New Matilda.com: http://www.newmatilda.com//policytoolkit/

Online Opinion: http://www.onlineopinion.com.au/view.asp?article=4611

Fairfax: http://www.fairfax.com.au/

Rural Press: http://www.ruralpress.com/interactive/

Now Broadband TV: http://www.nowbroadbandtv.com/

Current TV: http://www.current.tv/

Sydney Morning Herald: http://www.smh.com.au/

McNair Ingenuity, 2004, Audience research data: http://www.cbonline.org.au/index.cfm?pageId=44,133,2,0

Neilsen//Netratings: http://www.nielsen-netratings.com/

HitWise: http://www.hitwise.com/

Australian Policy Online: http://www.apo.org.au/

PC World: http://www.pcworld.com/

Vodafone: http://store.vodafone.com.au/

Video Nation: http://www.bbc.co.uk/videonation

One World Radio: http://www.radio.oneworld.net

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com

Indymedia: http://www.indymedia.org.au

The A-Infos Radio Project: http://www.radio4all.net

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com

Podcast network: http://www.podcast.net/

Ultima Online: http://www.uo.com/

Habbo Hotel: http://www.habbohotel.co.uk/

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Podcasting

Poynter Online: http://www.poynter.org/

http://mediapolicy.blogspot.com/2006/03/telecom-legislation-and-civil-rights_11.html

Institute for Public Policy Research: http://www.ippr.org/publicationsandreports/

PCMLP Self-Regulation Review: http://www.selfregulation.info/iapcoda/0307xx-selfregulation-review.htm

Second Life: http://www.secondlife.com

Game Studies: http://www.gamestudies.org

OhMyNews: http://www.english.ohnynews.com

Google Books: http://www.books.google.com/intl/en/googlebooks/about.html

SBS: http://www20.sbs.com.au/

Beyond: http://www.beyond.com.au/index.html

Creative Eceonomy: http://www.creative.org.au/index.shtml

CNet News: http://news.com.com

Yahoo TV: http://au.tv.yahoo.com/tv/

Lab 3000: http://lab.3000.com.au/news/news/index.jsp

Gizmodo: http://www.gizmodo.com/gadgets/

del.icio.us: http://del.icio.us/

Enhance: https://www.enhancetv.com.au/index.php

Centre for Research on Socio-Cultural Change: http://www.cresc.man.ac.uk/

FreePress: http://www.freepress.net/

Silver In Seattle: http://silverinseattle.blogspot.com/

Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies: http://rccs.usfca.edu/default.asp

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative: http://www.w3c.org/WAI/

Whirlpool: http://www.whirlpool.net.au/

The Diplomat: http://www.the-diplomat.com

Online Articles

Downie, C and Macintosh, A., 2005, “New media or more of the same? The cross-media ownership debate”, The Australia Institute, May 2006, available at: http://www.tai.org.au/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=36&func=fileinfo&id=200

Meadows, M., Forde, S., Ewart, J., & Foxwell. K., 2005, ‘A perfect match? Qualitative research and the community media sector’, 3CMedia, 1(1): http://www.cbonline.org.au/3cmedia/3c_issue1/index.shtm

Wired Magazine: http://www.wired.com

 

Academic

http://www.uws.edu.au/research/researchcentres/ccr

http://www.law.unimelb.edu.au/cmcl/

http://www.lboro.ac.uk/departments/ss/

http://www.csls.ox.ac.uk/index.shtml

 

Reference/Information Sources

Australian Legal Institute: http://www.austlii.edu.au/

European Journalism Centre: http://www.ejc.net/resources/

Budde Communication Pty Ltd: http://www.budde.com.au

Museum of Broadcast Communications, Raymond Williams on TV:

http://www.museum.tv/archives/etv/W/htmlW/williamsray/williamsray.htm

Association for Cultural Studies: http://cultstud.org/index.php?s=resources

Media International Australia: http://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/griff/mia

Network Insight: http://www.networkinsight.org

International Association for Media and Communication Research: http://www.iamcr.org

PEW: http://www.pewinternet.org

Wikipedia: http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technological_determinism

Third Generation: http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3G

Foresters Research: http://www.foresters.com/

Wikipedia: http://www.wikipedia.org

Quicklinks (Media/Coms/IT resource list serve): http://www.quicklinks.net

Red Sheriff Research: http://www.redsheriff.com

Scaleplus (legislation archive): http://www.scaleplus.gov.au

Internet World Stats: http://www.internetworldstats.com/

HitWise Data Centre: http://www.hitwise.com/datacenter/

Clickz: http://www.clickz.com/

International Telecommunication Union: http://www.itu.int/ITU-D/ict/

Technorati: http://technorati.com/

Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies: http://rccs.usfca.edu/

Internet Archive: http://www.archive.org/web/web.php

Office of Communications: http://www.ofcom.org.uk/tv/psb_review/

Wikipedia: http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technological_determinism

Asia Media: http://www.asiamedia.ucla.edu/

Electronic Commerce Definitions: http://www.anu.edu.au/people/Roger.Clarke/EC/ECDefns.html

E-Commerce Times: http://www.ecommercetimes.com/perl/section/ebiz/

Ecommerce Guide: http://www.ecommerce-guide.com/news/trends/

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E-commerce

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_2.0

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network_neutrality

Digital Review of Asia Pacific: http://www.digital-review.org/

FreePress: http://www.freepress.net/content/ownership

AOL Television: http://television.aol.com/in2tv

Blogger: http://www.blogger.com/start

InfoChange India News http://infochangeindia.org/


Back to top